Aggressive, Compassionate, & Responsive Criminal Defense
If you have been charged with a criminal or traffic offense in Georgia, you need an attorney who will fight for you.
Click here to contact me today for a free consultation.
Get in touch
Please contact me using the form below
Illegal U-Turns in Georgia
In Georgia, it is illegal to make a U-Turn:
- On a curve,
- Near the crest of a hill that prevents visibility of vehicles traveling in both directions,
- Where you cannot make a U-Turn without interfering with other traffic, or
- Where signage prohibits U-Turns.
Penalties for an Improper U-Turn Citation
Under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-121, Illegal U-Turn is a misdemeanor criminal offense in Georgia. That means it carries a maximum penalty of:
- 12 months in jail, and/or
- A fine of up to $1,000.
In lieu of jail time, up to 12 months on probation is also possible. It is most common to receive a fine, and most people convicted for an Illegal U-Turn will not go to jail. In Georgia, though, you should take traffic fines seriously. They are usually quite expensive, and courts almost always tack on court costs and fees that increase the cost even more.
License Implications for an Improper U-Turn Conviction
If you plead guilty of Improper U-Turn or you are convicted in a Georgia traffic court, the court will submit a record of your conviction to the Department of Driver Services (DDS). DDS will assess 3 points on your driving record.
Why call a lawyer for an Improper U-Turn Charge?
If a police officer has given you a citation for an Improper U-Turn, call me today. As your Georgia Traffic Defense Attorney, I work hard to help you avoid painful fines, increased insurance rates, and points on your license. Questions about Improper U-Turn that I haven’t answered here? Get in touch.
Share This Page