Aggressive, Compassionate, & Responsive Criminal Defense
If you have been charged with a criminal or traffic offense in Georgia, you need an attorney who will fight for you.
Click here to contact me today for a free consultation.
Driving in the Gore
Code section OCGA 40-6-50(b) prohibits drivers from driving “over, across, or within any dividing space, barrier, gore, paved shoulder, or section separating the roadways of a dividing highway” except where there is an opening designed for driving and no sign exists prohibiting drivers from using this opening.
Definition of the “Gore” in Georgia
What is a “gore” under Georgia law? The law defines the “gore” as the “area of convergence between two lanes of traffic.
Defenses to a Driving in the Gore citation in Georgia
Are there defenses to a Georgia Driving in the Gore charge?
Yes. One possible defense to this charge is that you drove in the gore to prevent an accident. In other words, you were forced to drive in the gore due to the actions of another driver. Another possible defense to a ticket under this statute is that you were responding to an accident that already occurred, or that you were stopping to render assistance. See Reid v. Midwest Transp. 270 Ga.App. 557, 607 S.E.2d 170 (2004).
What are the penalties for Driving in the Gore in Georgia?
Like all traffic matters in Georgia, Driving in the Gore is considered a misdemeanor offense. That means that it carries the potential for up to $1,000 in fines (plus court costs and fees), and up to 12 months in jail. That said, the vast majority of traffic matters will not result in jail time, especially for people without significant negative driving records. Nonetheless, it is important to know your options and give yourself the best chance at avoiding serious penalties. An experienced Georgia traffic court attorney can help with that.
In addition to these potentially serious penalties, a conviction for Driving in the Gore can affect your driving privileges. Driving in the Gore is a 3 point offense. For more information about the points system in Georgia, click here. It is important to note that drivers over 21 who accumulate 15 points in a 24-month period of time will have their licenses suspended.
Questions about Driving in the Gore?
If you have been charged with Driving in the Gore in Georgia, you deserve to know your options. You also deserve competent, experienced representation and a lawyer who will fight for you. Some lawyers don’t take traffic cases seriously. I know that your case is important to you. That’s why it is important to me too. Give me a call today.
Share This Page