Aggressive, Compassionate, & Responsive Criminal Defense

If you have been charged with a criminal or traffic offense in Georgia, you need an attorney who will fight for you.

Click here to contact me today for a free consultation.

Second DUI in Ten Years

A person convicted of a second DUI within a 10 year period is facing potentially serious consequences, including substantial fines, license suspension, mandatory rehabilitation conditions, and extended jail terms. I understand the complexities of Georgia DUI law and know how to look at the individual case circumstances to build the strongest possible defense. Contact my office today for a free consultation for the experienced support you need for your case.

A second DUI conviction within a ten year period of time will result in harsher penalties than a first DUI. A second DUI in ten years, like a first DUI, is considered a misdemeanor in most cases, unless serious injury or major property damage resulted from the offense. However, Georgia law heavily penalizes individuals alleged to be repeat offenders.  If you are facing a second DUI outside of a 10 year period, keep scrolling for more information.


What are the legal penalties for a Second DUI Conviction in 10 Years?

  • 72 hours to 12 months of jail time
  • 12 months of probation
  • A fine of $600 – $1,000 plus surcharges
  • 240 hours of community service
  • Risk reduction
  • Clinical evaluation and treatment
  • License suspension


Second DUI in 10 Years FAQ


Will I go to jail if I’m convicted of a Second DUI in 10 Years?


Legally, a second DUI can result in a sentence of up to 12 months in jail. Under O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391 (the DUI statute), though, the judge may probate all but 72 hours of that time. This means that 72 hours of jail time is mandatory under the law, but the rest may legally be served on probation rather than in jail. However, many judges are likely to require more than the minimum required 72 hours. Every judge has his or her own policies, and every jurisdiction is different with regards to jail time.


What about Probation?

A 12 month period of probation is required by Georgia law upon conviction for a second DUI in 10 years. A person who is placed on probation is required to check in with an officer periodically (usually monthly). It is the officer’s job to ensure that the person is completing his or her court-ordered requirements and is not engaging in illegal activity. A person who is on probation may be randomly tested for drugs or alcohol, and must typically pay a monthly supervision fee to the probation department. These supervision fees, depending on the jurisdiction, range anywhere from $25 – $60 per month.

Depending on the jurisdiction, probation may be more or less invasive – some offices require more reporting, while others require less. Typically it is a good idea to complete all court-ordered requirements as soon as possible and report this to the probation officer.


Is there a fine for a first DUI?


Yes. A second DUI in 10 years will result in a fine that is at least $600, but not more than $1,000. Keep in mind, however, that most courts add on court costs and surcharges that can nearly double the total amount that you will be required to pay.


Are there other requirements for a First Lifetime DUI Conviction?


Yes.  O.C.G.A. § 40-6-391 requires that courts sentence an individual convicted of a second DUI in 10 years to complete:

  • At least 30 days (240 hours) of community service at a 501(C)(3) organization,
  • A DUI Risk Reduction program (which must be completed no later than 120 days after conviction unless the individual is incarcerated – click here for a list of DDS-approved Georgia Risk Reduction Programs), and
  • A clinical evaluation for drugs and alcohol and any follow-up treatment recommended by the evaluator.


What will happen to my license if I am convicted of a second DUI in 10 years?


In addition to the legal consequences of a second DUI conviction, the Georgia Department of Driver Services also imposes penalties that affect your ability to drive. If a person is convicted of a second DUI in a five year period (note that the Department of Driver Services only looks back five years as opposed to the ten year period that the criminal justice system uses), the initial period of suspension is three years. However, a person whose license is suspended under this provision may be eligible for early reinstatement after 18 months, if certain conditions are met. The first 120 days of such suspension are referred to as a “hard” suspension. This means that no limited driving permits are allowed and the individual is barred from operating a vehicle for that period of time. 

After 120 days, the person can apply for an Ignition Interlock Device Limited Driving Permit and have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in his/her vehicle. That device must remain in the vehicle for twelve months. After this sixteen month period, the device may be uninstalled and the person can then drive with just the limited permit for two more months. 

After the eighteen month period has expired, the person can go and obtain a fully reinstated license. A reinstatement fee of $210 (or $200 if sent by mail) must be paid, and the person must have completed a DUI Risk Reduction Program.  Note that pleading “nolo,” or no contest, will not avoid this outcome.  See O.C.G.A. § 40-5-63.


What if my first DUI was more than 10 years ago?


Georgia criminal courts have a 10-year “look back” period for DUIs, and that period is measured by the date of the first DUI arrest where there was a conviction obtained to the date of the second DUI arrest where there was a conviction obtained – conviction dates do not factor into the analysis.  This means that, if you were arrested on December 31, 2007 for your first arrest and then later convicted sometime in 2009 but your second arrest did not occur until January 1, 2018, the judge in the 2018 case would be bound by the range of penalties available under the first DUI statute, even though technically it would be your second DUI arrest. However, the prosecution may still inform the judge of the prior DUI conviction, and the judge may use that conviction against you during sentencing – because most criminal charges give judges a range of available options, the judge may sentence a person with a DUI outside of the 10 year window to something on the higher end of that range.

If you have a second lifetime DUI that is outside of the 10-year window, you should speak to a Georgia attorney who understands Georgia DUI law, but who also understands the jurisdiction that your case will be heard in.  As a Georgia attorney with many years of DUI practice behind me, who has practiced in hundreds of jurisdictions throughout the state, I can advise you on how to get the best available outcome in your case.

Do I need an attorney for a Second DUI in 10 years?

Absolutely. A person charged with a second DUI should never appear in court without an experienced Georgia DUI Attorney. If you are convicted of a second DUI in 10 years, the consequences can affect your driving privileges, finances, employment, and even your liberty. Judges and prosecutors are given a huge amount of discretion over the outcomes of these cases, which adds a huge layer of unpredictability to DUI cases that can be very scary for individuals who are not intimately involved with the legal system. You should be diligent about hiring an attorney who not only understands the law, but who also knows the personalities involved.

I have handled hundreds of DUI cases in many of jurisdictions throughout Georgia. I have practiced in front of countless judges, and have achieved excellent outcomes for my clients with countless prosecutors. It is my goal to make the process less intimidating and to get you the best possible outcome in your case. Please contact me for a free consultation to review your case.

URGENT: If you have been arrested for DUI in Georgia, you have only 30 days to appeal the administrative suspension of your driver’s license or to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If you fail to act, your license will be suspended. Do not wait until your license is suspended. Know your options. Get in touch today.



Learn More


Writer

Kevin Fisher


Share This Page

Follow by Email
Facebook
TWITTER
LinkedIn

Have any questions?

(404) 403-2665

Open Every Day

Call Anytime

Or click here to send me a message.

Get in touch

Please contact me using the form below

Get in touch

Please contact me using the form below

Get in touch

Please contact me using the form below

Get in touch

Please contact me using the form below